Repeat Conversation

Ok, I get impatient a lot. I don’t slow down when others are speaking to always listen. Instead, I tend to be calculating my response to them before the words leave their mouths. I intended that word calculating to remind myself that I am being very malicious to others by not allowing them the respect of fully listening.

But, here is what really chaps me. Repeating myself. Over and over and over and over and I feel like an idiot. I don’t like to repeat myself, conversations or stories. Maybe that is why I have such a hard time raising children or putting words to my original music. I love repeating the music over and over and over just not the words.

Raising children is the hardest thing I have ever done. Yesterday I had the conversation, the day before I had the same conversation, and most likely today also will include a similar version of the same conversation. I can’t stand that. This is why I know God has a wonderful sense of humor. Sort of like, here, I made you to be impatient, and hate repeating conversations and to not be able to be distracted. Bam!!! Enter children. They are so much fun. But they are at odds with who I would rather be. So each day, I continue to try to put my dad hat on and remember to listen, to repeat myself, and to deal with distraction.

But really? We just talked about not eating lipstick yesterday, all last week and today again? At what point do we do something different? Please, please make a different mistake and lets stop repeating the same one. Please?

Leave a Reply

