Homeless

At one point in my late 20’s I had to make a choice. To get rid of my dog or go homeless. I did what any country boy would do. I read Where the Red Fern Grows as a kid so I went homeless. Winter, freezing, homeless. I was lucky enough to have enough friends and a vehicle that I didn’t have to sleep on the streets but I sure do understand some part of what the homeless get to enjoy (sarcasm).

Sometimes we too get a taste of a certain thing or event but we don’t get to witness it as some less fortunate who live it. Day in day out they are homeless. They don’t have a vehicle or caring friends or any of that. They don’t have food or a shelter or medical care.

Is this the poor and fatherless that we are to reach out to? I think so. Sometimes being poor is just also being ill equipped to face the world in a good manner. Sometimes being poor is not being hungry for food but for knowledge. Sometimes we have to be Wrecked as Jeff Goins discuss in his same titled book.

So, we see people on our block who are yelling at their kids, screaming at their spouse and can’t keep their yard spotless. What should we do to help? We could offer to take their kids to church, clean their house, or offer the couple a date night. A much nicer thing than judge them and ignore them and their problems. So, remember this, some people had crappy role models and don’t know how else they could go about raising their kids, being married or taking care of their stuff. Go help them out. Go volunteer to them. They will probably turn you down but you keep trying.

I was fortunate, many others are not. I still fail as a human and as a parent and as a husband but nobody bothers to give me pointers or help out by watching the kids. It ticks me off so I finally wanted to say something about this and get it off my chest. I’m that guy that yells at his kids and I’m sorry to them for that. My father beat the snot out of me and belittled me. I’m glad I’m not doing that. But, seriously people, go without judgement and help those who sure need it. It doesn’t even have to be with money. Sometimes the little things change people more than money. Time and lack of judgement and love do God’s work quite nicely.

16 thoughts on “Homeless

  1. “go without judgement and help those who sure need it.” Sometimes it’s not easy to do, but you’re right, it’s the right thing to do. “Time and lack of judgement and love do God’s work quite nicely. ” Thank you for the wake-up call.

    • Thank you for the comment and the kind words. I’m still trying to make sense of it all myself. I don’t have all the answers yet, but small pieces to the large puzzle. Enjoy the weekend. Peace and blessings.

  2. Wow! This was certainly “up in my grill!” Although I volunteer at the mission, and sing at the park sometimes (our church feeds folks there every week), I’m the woman who judges the guy yelling at his kids. I’m truly sorry for that.

    I’ve been thoroughly convicted by this excellent article, and will certainly take a different approach in the future. My neighbors will rise up and call you “blessed!”

    Have a wonder-full day!

    In Christ,
    Tami
    \o/

    • Thanks so much, I’m not guiltless, I’ve done my fair share of judging without knowing the facts too. Glad you enjoyed it and good job on doing your part to help out as well. Peace, blessings and cheers. In Christ, indeed.

    • Glad that something good came from all that tumult! It is a wake up call to me as well. How, I sometimes get it all wrong and judge before knowing all the story. peace, cheers and blessings, thanks for reading through

  3. I love this post … we all too often think “this can’t happen to me” … when in reality homelessness is closer to each one of us than we can dare to imagine … Thank you for this reminder today …. blessings to you!

  4. Thank you so much for your honesty and humility. It is so important to view eachother through the heart, eyes and ears of Jesus. Only then can we know how to help, and share His love. All of us fall short in areas, and have hurts in our hearts that no one is aware of: May God bless you: -)

  5. Thanks! Love this. You are so right about going and offering help like watching the children, giving them a date night out…etc. I’m going to watch for opportunities now to do exactly that. Like you, I was homeless once. I fled sexual abuse at home and lived under a bridge. Like you, I was fortunate. I lived in my pickup truck. But I mean to tell you, washing in that river in December was cold!

    • Life presents us with many challenges indeed! What other things would you point out to people about the whole homeless aspect of it? Glad you came through that and life found you better! Peace, cheers and blessings

Leave a Reply

