The kick of the beast

The kick of the beast.  I have been very fortunate to remain standing after several encounters with angry beef or hostile hoggies.  I have been chased through some narrow alleys and have escaped, barely.  Life must yet have plans for me.  I know that to be true.  I have been kicked at and had gates thrown off hinges and yet here I am.  I have seen death first hand and have dealt with it well.  Dying is different from an animals perspective I would imagine.

 

The view is different, the eyesight is different, the sight line and several other things.  I don’t want to get to the end of my life and be walked into my kill area quietly.  I will not go quietly.  I intend on making big noise and letting my disapproval be known as well as throwing my gates around.  Unless it’s cancer or I die in my sleep.  I hope I die peacefully but none of us ever knows.  I want more time as we all do.  “Everybody wanna go to heaven but nobody wanna go now.”  Kenny Chesney nailed it spot on with that song.  So accurate.  But the bigger and portable picture is this. 

 

Will you go quietly.  Will you be a docile animal heading to slaughter or will you speak up no matter the cost.  There’s a quote I loved as a child and it gets fuzzy now but here it is (kinda): “When they came for the Jews, I did not speak up because I was not a Jew….when they came for me there was no one to speak for me.”  Deep and interesting to say the least.  All kinds of people looked out over Kitty Genovese as she was being murdered and how many turned up their tv or talked louder than this disturbance.  Such stupidity.  Someone thinks someone else will do something about the thing taking place that few people feel led to act.  People look around at the group before diving in to save someone from drowning.  Come on people grow a pair.  Get your eyes on the rescue and not the group. 

Yesterday I realized that blinking eyes and the last thing seen before death should be meaningful.  Make it count and count on it to change if only just a small part of this life for someone’s betterment.  Lick your wounds later but for now, let it be known, to kick the gates and not go easily nor quietly.  Have a firefight but not literally.  Take none of this literal but fight when it is time to stand up for those who can’t fight.  “If I lose, at least I tried.”  Slipknot said it quite accurately.  So next time that you feel the need to stop a bullying child on a playground or some abusive idiot beating up on someone, stop what you’re doing and interrupt that in progress or deal with guilt.  Me, I choose life even at my expense.  You?

 

R.I.P. Douglas Schubick, thank you for fighting and teaching us howImage

Leave a Reply

