zen and making it big

I used to look around the world and notice every single thing that I didn’t have and wonder to myself why that was.  What was stopping me from getting that or being there?  Quite simply it was the fact that God had something bigger planned for me.  Petty jealousy aside and envy, which is something I had to overcome, I realized that poverty indeed is the greatest thing someone can have once had.  It challenges them to think outside the box and pull their reserves to test their mettle.  I wasn’t born well off and still am not but I’m learning that things are not what life is about.  People are what life is about.  Believing in something bigger than yourself is what life is about. 

All that being said, I keep telling people I know I’ve made it big when I have an Ipad and an Iphone and a home studio, laptop, new tv….The list goes on but what really matters is if no matter how big a person gets, they do their part to leave this place better than they found it.  I have been learning this lately after buying and trying to renovate a home built in 1900.  It still has the actual 2 by 4 wood studs and not some 1.5 by 3.5 nominal size adjustment.  It has handcrafted metal nails and lots of lead paint apparently noone thought to tell me about prior to remodeling.  That would have been useful.  No wonder I laid in a stupor for a week and just kicked myself for being lazy.  Lead sure does wonders but the point is this.  Had I not tried introducing change and betterment to this house, I would have been healthy, happy and probably richer.  But the long run points me to the fact that I’m doing my little part to leave it better than I found it.  I like to help improve people around me too and I hope that when all is said and done  I’ve changed at least one life for the better.

How about you?  Are you creating or destroying?  I hope you leave it better than you found it as well.  Maybe you could help your elderly neighbor carry groceries in or take a new face in town to dinner.  Little things change the world.  I hope you are figuring out how to change that world for the better.  I hope that you stop looking at what you haven’t got and realize what you got is love and the funny thing about love is, the more you give and send out to the world, the more you receive.  Enjoy your week.

Leave a Reply

